spreewald.

On Saturday, I woke up and headed to the train station.   I was going to Spreewald, a huge national park area south of Berlin.   Professor Neumann, his wife and son were there to meet me on the other end.  They were awesome, and I really enjoyed their company.  As you can see from the pictures below, this area was GORGEOUS!!! It reminded me of Venice, only Venice as a nature preserve. We drove to the town, took a boat ride tour of the area, got a traditional Babbenbier that is only brewed in the area, saw the castle turned hotel, grabbed coffee and cake, and headed back to their house.

They have sheep!!  In their back yard! One of the little sheep was only born 3 days ago, so it was really tiny.  It was funny because it couldn’t figure out who its mom was!  I was in for a treat because it was the city festival that happens once a year.  As we were walking through the carnival booths and food stands, Professor Neumann commented that this is the only time of the year you actually see people in the streets.  We went back to his mothers house who lives right across the street, and since we had some time to kill before my train came, we had champagne and chocolate.

It was good to be talking in German the whole day.

I mixed up the train times and ended up getting stuck in Berlin for 2 hours until 11pm.  I decided that instead of just sitting there and waiting, I would walk around.  Berlin at night is amazing.   All the lights, people, energy in the city… There ended up being this ritzy party thing going on with live music.  Then at the end, about 15mins before my train came, there were fireworks!! I LOVE fireworks, so this almost made my 2 hour delay worth it.  I immediately thought of 4th of July, so these were my 4th of July fireworks.

Leave a Reply

