delinquent.

Ok.  I know I’ve been delinquent.  I never even talked about last weekend and my description of work is pretty pathetic.  But I have some time now, so I’m going to attempt to remedy this.

Last weekend the plan was to meet up with Liz, go to Hamburg and see Frau.  Frau is my German teacher from elementary school.  I have not seen her for years.  She is leading an exchange program for a couple weeks with students from the public high-school by my house.  Well it turned out that they were not in Hamburg that weekend, but up on an Island in the North See.  It all just felt too pressured for some reason, especially since I had plans on Sunday that I didn’t really want to miss.   So we didn’t attempt to find them.  Saturday instead I went to an open-air Jazz festival for the evening with my friends from the dorm.  The picture below was taken there; Magda [Poland] is on the left and Andre [Brazil] is on the right.  It was really great, just lounging in the grass and talking, while all the locals buzzed around us.  The bands sang more than half the time in English.  andre and magda Sunday I got up early and went to Berlin.  Diane was going to be there with two of her friends and I wanted to join them for the day.   We went on the free tour, which was pretty much all we had time for.  I’ve seen everything in Berlin, but hearing the history over again is never a bad thing.  Plus I learned something new- that after WWII, Hitler was dug up from his bunker/grave, and his remains were kept in Magdeburg until 1971! After that, they put his body in the Elbe! Like 20 feet away from me.  Kinda crazy.  Anyway, I had to get back to Magdeburg in time to see the Conferdations cup – aka a soccer game.  Why you ask? Because it was USA vs. Brazil.  And I have make a couple of brazilian friends here, and needed to faithfully represent my country.  USA started off strong, had a 2-0 lead, but then Brazil kicked it up and won 3-2.  But we watched the game downstairs in the IKUS lounge, good to have everyone together.

This week at work has been kind-of ridiculous.  Never have I felt so unproductive and inefficient.  Sylvia has been under a lot of stress for another project she is working on, so I naturally take second place.  And I totally understand that.  That’s just how internships work- when the person in charge of you doesn’t utilize you, it can feel a little frustrating.   She has commented twice now that I am working faster than they thought I would be.  And all I’m thinking is, I just spent the last two hours looking up information about grad schools… I am clearly not being productive and you still think I am accomplishing things ahead of time.  I guess it is a tribute to my Calvin education [shameless plug for Calvin].

On Tuesdays, I have been playing basketball with my american friend Cody.  And lots of other people.  It’s a huge group and we play pick-up for a couple hours.  I have absolutely been loving it.  I haven’t played pick-up like this in forever.   It’s funny though, because some of the guys are such babies!  And it’s not like I’m playing that aggressive!! I box someone out, not even that hard, and the guy starts complaining about it.  They always call fouls on me too, it drives me crazy.  They make fun of me like, “oh, where are you from, Detroit??” haha.  It’s awesome.  But the boys are all so sweaty and gross, and since I’m not afraid to get a little more physical I get really nasty.  A shower has never felt so good as after those games.

Today is Thursday.  Herr Ball is picking me up in a couple hours and we are going to visit some sort bio-gas plant.  I think it’s different than the one I saw earlier.  I’m not exactly sure, but he offered me to come along and I jumped at the chance.   Anyway, I’m excited to go.  Plus I really like Herr Ball and he is rarely in the office.

Ok peace and love! I’ll try to be better at staying up to date.

XX

One response to “delinquent.

  1. hahaha “the boys are all so sweaty and gross”, hah i’m glad you’re gettin to play some basketball. 🙂

Leave a Reply

